With An Open Mind.
 
I am currently reading My Forbidden Face by Latifa . This is a story based on her life being captured by the Taliban and the things that she had to do. Before I started reading this book I knew the Taliban were a crucial group of people who hazed women in particular , but I didn’t know to what extreme . When you look at the cover the first thing is a picture of a women ( you think it’s a women ) covered in her native dress but where the eye and nose part is  more like some kind of net or barricade .  When I first saw the picture I got the feeling that this girl was being trapped but I didn’t know to what extent .  I than begin reading the first two chapters of the book and learn Latifa is trapped in this kind of clothing that would usually be to pray in as punishment by the Taliban .

 

The epigram in the book is somewhat of a short poem around 3 to 5 lines talking about conformity. How you should submit to anything or anyone because once you do you no longer have what makes you ,you .Latifa has obviously touched many lives and hearts with this book by I think speaking out and telling everyone the unfathomable things that the Taliban pt her threw and how she escaped it. She has many good reviews from Entertainment Weekly even to Publishers weekly . Stating how “This memoir is one instance where a thousand words are worth more than any picture ’’.  In my personal opinion I think the book is somewhat of an astringent. It leaves sour taste in your mouth about the Taliban as a whole . Just because of the brutal things they do women who are their prisoners’. They have no rights and their eyes and are only useful for one thing sex. But , in a lighter sense the book shows how women back than had to coalesce with each other , whether they knew each other or not to try and escape the Taliban and to not conform to their ways .


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.